9 User Management
9.1 User Roles
Every RStudio Connect user account is configured with a role that controls their default capabilities on the system. Data scientists, analysts and others working in R will most likely want “publisher” accounts. Other users are likely to need only “viewer” accounts.
DefaultUserRole property within the
Authorization configuration section specifies the role for new accounts and defaults to
publisher. Other valid choices for this property are
RStudio Connect administrator accounts have permissions which allow them to manage the service. This includes setting the role of an account and configuring email settings. Administrators may or may not be system administrators. The specific capabilities of an administrator are documented here.
Accounts with a “publisher” role are allowed to deploy content into RStudio Connect. They can also help manage another user’s content when made a “collaborator” of that content.
“Viewer” accounts can be added as a viewer to specific content. They can discover that content through the RStudio Connect dashboard and see its settings. Viewers can also email themselves copies of documents they are permitted to see.
An anonymous visitor to RStudio Connect who is not authenticated with the system can view content that has been marked as viewable by “Everyone”.
9.2 User Permissions
Administrators and Publishers can be assigned permissions for content published to RStudio Connect.
9.2.1 All Content
- Anonymous Visitors
Anonymous users can access content listed for
Everyone. Anonymous viewers access content through direct URLs and will not have any view into Connect.
“Viewers” can sign into the Connect dashboard and discover and access content listed for
All logged-in users, and content for which they are granted access.
“Collaborators” can change access controls and add Viewers and other Collaborators.
“Administrators” have all the permissions of Collaborators. Administrators are not automatically added to content and will not see all content on their homepage. Administrators can proactively add themselves as Collaborators or Viewers to any content. Administrators can set vanity URLs and change the
RunAsuser. Administrators and the original content owner can delete content.
9.2.2 R Markdown Reports
Access controls and user privileges apply to every public version of a report. For example, if the default version of a report is accessible to
Everyone, all public versions will be accessible to
- Anonymous Visitors
Every version of a report has a unique URL (accessible by opening the content with ‘Open Solo’). Reports must be listed for
Everyonefor the URL to be available to anonymous users.
“Viewers” have the ability to view a report through the Connect dashboard. They can discover and toggle between public versions of a report. They can email themselves the current version of a report. They can not see parameters for different versions of a report. They can see the distribution and schedule for public versions.
“Collaborators” have the privileges of Viewers and additionally can: view parameters for public versions, change parameters and run ad hoc reports, create new versions, schedule versions, setup distribution lists, and request reports to be refreshed. Collaborators can also create private versions that are not discoverable or accessible by any other user.
9.2.3 Shiny Applications
“Collaborators” can change the performance settings for applications.
9.3 Administrator Capabilities
Administrative users on RStudio Connect are empowered to inspect and manage various settings on the server. Regardless of their level of privilege on some piece of content (viewer, collaborator, or neither), administrators can manage collaborators and viewers on content, manage the runtime settings for Shiny applications, and adjust the schedules for R Markdown documents. Additionally, only administrators can modify the Vanity Path and RunAs settings for content through the web dashboard; they can do so even on content that they don’t have the ability to view.
Administrators do not have implicit rights to view content or download the source bundles. If an administrator visits a report without viewership privileges to the report, they will see an error message rather than the report’s content. Despite being unable to see the contents of the report, administrators can still manage the settings for all content. Because an administrator has the ability to manage the collaborators and viewers of others’ content on the system, they can choose to add themselves as a viewer or collaborator on the report to gain access. Administrative overrides of permissions on content require that the administrator take an explicit action which is captured in the audit log.
9.4 Locked Accounts
You can prohibit a user from accessing RStudio Connect by “locking” their account. This control is available to administrative users when editing user profile information in the RStudio Connect dashboard.
Locked users are prohibited from signing into RStudio Connect, deploying content, and otherwise interacting with the service.
A locked account is not deleted and deployed content continues to be available. A non-personal report configured with scheduling and distribution will continue to execute according to its schedule. A locked user no longer receives scheduled content at their email address.
Content owned by a locked user can be deleted by a collaborator or by an administrative user. Each piece of deployed content must be deleted individually; there is no bulk removal.
A locked user can be subsequently unlocked. All their previously allowed abilities are immediately restored.
9.5 User Renaming
Administrators may alter the usernames of existing users on the system regardless of the current authentication system. Users will still be able to access their deployed content and content that has been shared with them. If they have existing vanity URLs with their username incorporated, none of those will be altered. They will, of course, need to use the new username when logging in.
If the user has authenticated inside of the RStudio IDE, they will still be able to deploy using a previous connection; however, the IDE will continue displaying their old username during deployments. To minimize the risk of future ambiguity, we recommend that the user disconnect and reconnect their IDE to RStudio Connect so that the valid username is displayed.
9.6 Command-Line Interface
Connect includes a
usermanager command for some basic user management tasks. This utility helps you list users and modify user roles in the event that no one can access a Connect administrative user account.
See Appendix B for more information on using the
usermanager CLI to manage users.