11 Content Management

RStudio Connect provides flexibility over how uploaded content is configured and shared.

11.1 Sharing Settings

Each deployment in RStudio Connect can have specific access controls which specify which users are allowed to view and/or edit that content.

11.1.1 Collaborators

The list of collaborators enumerates the users allowed to edit and help manage the settings for a given deployment. The content owner is always included as a collaborator. Collaborators must be either “publisher” or “administrator” accounts.

11.1.2 Viewers

A viewer is able to view content. Any type of account can be made a viewer for a given piece of content. Choose from the following options.

Everyone

Any visitor to RStudio Connect will be able to view this content. This includes anonymous users who are not authenticated with the system.

All logged-in users

All RStudio Connect accounts are permitted to view this content.

Specific users

Specific users (or groups of users) are allowed to view this content. Other users will not have access.

Just me

Only the owner of this content is able to view this content.

11.2 Vanity Paths

All content receives a URL that includes its numerical ID at at the time of deployment – something like https://rsc.company.org/connect/#/apps/982. Connect administrative users can create “vanity paths” for content which make the content available at an additional, customized URL.

This setting can be found at the bottom of the “Access” tab when editing a piece of content. There you can enter the path at which you want this content to be available and preview the complete URL. Once you “Save” your content, you’ll be able to access your content at the new vanity URL.

Vanity URLs can not be nested inside of one another. So if a vanity URL /finance/ already exists, you would not be able to create a new vanity URL at /finance/budget/. You may create sibling paths: /finance/budget/ and /finance/quarterly/ may both exist concurrently.

11.3 Bundle Management

Content published to RStudio Connect is encapsulated in a “bundle” that contains the source code and data necessary to execute the content. An application or report is updated by uploading a new bundle. Old bundles are retained on disk until you reach the limit imposed by Applications.BundleRetentionLimit at which point older bundles will be deleted.

Users can manage their own bundles in the dashboard by clicking the “Source Versions” button. Collaborators can delete, download, activate, and view activation logs for their applications’ bundles. Activating a different bundle is a way of “rolling back” or “rolling forward” to an older or newer version of your application, respectively.

Activating an alternative bundle for a Shiny application will cause new incoming users to be directed to the new version of the application but will not interrupt existing users of the application who are viewing the previously activated bundle. For reports, activating an alternate bundle will immediately render the newly activated bundle and promote it to be the authoritative version of that document. For parameterized reports, only the default variant will be rerendered; other instances of the report will not automatically be regenerated, but the next manual or scheduled update will be performed on the newly selected bundle.